Do you see this message “Your data on all websites, Your tabs and browsing activity“? When you install for the first time a Chrome extension in your Google Chrome browser (that is coming from the Chrome web store), you will see this warning message with the install button:

Your data on all websites” and “Your tabs and browsing activity

But what is the meaning of this message and is this dangerous?

Informatie about the "your data on all websites" and other permissions
Permissions and site access

Quote from the lead developer Stefan

Privacy is very important for me and also for my users. And a Chrome extension must be simple and clean.

This explains more about these phrases.

Your data on all websites

  • Your data on all websites“:
    This means it injects a JavaScript to the current web page, know as “content.js”. The Turn Off the Lights browser extension use this feature, so it can detect the video player and track the play status for the “AutoPlay” feature.

Your tabs and browsing activity

  • Your tabs and browsing activity“:
    This means that the Chrome extension opens a welcome page when you install for the first time the Turn Off the Lights Chrome extension.

You can read more about this specific permission here on Google Chrome Developer Code’s documentation.

Tip to choose and install a good extension.

It’s best to install Chrome extensions from the Chrome web store and to read the review on that extension page.
If you need more helps contact the Google Chrome help forum and one of the Silver Star or a Product Experts will help you further.


Do you found technical, factual and grammatical errors on the Turn Off the Lights website?
You can report a technical problem using the Turn Off the Lights online technical error feedback form.




1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading...

About The Author