Please use and enjoy it, and if you can make a donation of any amount, we'd appreciate it immensely

Turn Off the Lights Browser Extension NAMED FINALIST FOR BEST Websites, Web Services & Applications IN THE 7th ANNUAL LOVIE AWARDS


Turn Off the Lights Browser Extension for YouTube and Beyond NAMED FINALIST FOR BEST Websites, Web Services & Applications IN THE 7th ANNUAL LOVIE AWARDS

Fans Can Vote Online to Help Turn Off the Lights Win EU Internet’s Top Honour:

Antwerp — 19 September 2017 –Turn Off the Lights announced today that it has been named a Finalist for Best Websites, Web Services & Applications in The 7th Annual Lovie Awards.

The Lovie Awards, presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS), is the most prestigious honor in Europe for excellence across websites, online advertising, internet video, mobile sites, apps & podcasts, and social. IADAS, which selects the Lovie Award Winners, is comprised of Internet industry experts including Musician Imogen HeapDan Howell (danisnotonfire), Actor/Writer Stephen FryVic Hayes (“‘Father of Wi-Fi”), Robin Chase (Founder, Buzzcar), Alexander Ljung, Founder & CEO of Soundcloud and Corinne Vigreux (Co-Founder, TomTom).

Turn Off the Lights has excelled in its category, showing fantastic prowess in digital innovation and creativity,” said Nicolas Roope, Executive Chair of IADAS. “This award is a testament to the skill, ingenuity and vision of its creators.”

As a Finalist, Turn Off the Lights is eligible to win a People’s Lovie Award, which is voted online by fans across the globe. From now through 5 October, Turn Off the Lights fans can cast votes at

All-Winners will be honored at the 7th Annual Lovie Awards ceremony at Picturehouse Central in London on 16 November 2017, where they will have an opportunity to deliver a “Declaration of Lovie” acceptance speech. A full list of The Lovie Awards Finalists can be found at

About Turn Off the Lights

“Turn Off the Lights” is a free browser extension, which dims the light of the website enabling more focus on the video player. The extension developed by Stefan Van Damme was initially released on 15th, December 2009 and since then has been regularly updated and enhanced with new features in order to meet user requirements.

About The Lovie Awards

The mission of The Lovie Awards is to recognize the unique and resonant nature of the European internet community—from Europeʼs top digital and creative networks and content publishers to cultural and political organizations and individual creators. Now in its seventh year, The Lovie Awards continues to celebrate the most resonant and pertinent stories in Europe. With entries from over 30 countries across the EU, the Awards reflect the tremendous growth of the internet as a tool for business and everyday lives. Work in English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Swedish, and Dutch can be entered into five main category types: Websites, Internet Video, Online Advertising, Mobile Sites, Apps & Podcasts, and Social. More information at Partners and Sponsors of The Lovie Awards include Google, Adformatie, Creativepool, Digiday, The Drum, El Pais, FITC, FONK, Frankwatching, FrenchWeb, HuffPo España, It’s Nice That, Mobile Marketing Association, Netimperative, Ninja Marketing, NUMA, Springwise, and Tubefilter.

To Join the Conversation:
Follow: @lovieawards
G+: +TheLovieAwards
Instagram: @thelovieawards

About The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences

The Academy is an intellectually diverse organization that includes members such as Internet Co-inventor Vint Cerf, Arianna Huffington, President and Editor-in-Chief of Huffington Post Media Group, Twitter Co-founder Biz Stone, Chairman and Founder of R/GA Bob Greenberg, Co-Founder of Instagram Kevin Systrom, Executive Creative Director at Google Lab, Iain Tait, Mozilla CEO and Chair Mitchell Baker, Tumblr Founder David Karp, and Roy L. Furman Professor of Law and Leadership at Harvard Law School, Lawrence Lessig. More information at

Name: Stefan Van Damme
Email: press @


About The Author

Stefan Van Damme